27
Jan
09

Reading in Bed

Reading in Bed is an anthology of essays by Steven Gilbar. I picked up a copy today at Housing Works on my first day as a volunteer; Gilbar’s collection features writers  such as Montaigne, Hazlitt, Emerson, Hesse, Nabokov, among many others, musing on the subject of reading. The cover illustration is a beautiful painting by Bascove titled “Reading in Bed”, courtesy of the Uptown Gallery:

Reading in Bed by Bascove

This composition is nigh-perfect in capturing my ultimate delights: reading, beauty, books on bookshelves, a luscious peach, an elegant green library lamp, a comfy bed, and a cat. Have you ever wondered why readers and cats go so well together? Perhaps because both are rather solitary creatures. More on Reading in Bed as I make my way through the essays one by one (preferably in the manner pictured above).


3 Responses to “Reading in Bed”


  1. January 13, 2010 at 3:22 pm

    Came across your page as I looked for images about reading in bed to post on my site. Thanks for turning me on to this book. Sounds perfect.

  2. December 3, 2012 at 11:46 am

    Hmm is anyone else having problems with the images on this blog loading?

    I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.

    Any responses would be greatly appreciated.


Leave a comment